Ultimate Subaru Message Board

New owner technical issues help needed

I bought Forester 2007 from the dealer. 2 weeks later - I have a strange sound while driving coming from the back. I'm 60yrs/o so drove few cars and have sensitive ear.  IT sounds to me there is a problem but not sure what this could be. I have a friend mechanic but he is an older guy and his hearing is not the best. He will look into it in a few days but I would like to hear your opinions as well so I do not spend and replace parts that do not need to be replaced. I asked for advice at the Subaru shop but they want to charge for everything (even a mechanic listening for a 2-3 min while driving). They said it could anything from transmission (God forbid) through the differential axel (or whatever you call it) to the wheel bearing. In my opinion it is the last one but here are some test I did and want to listen what you have to say (if you have any technical knowledge. I'm not a car mechanic but I'm enough technically inclined to have some basic knowledge.

The sound is kinda repetitive bruming,... huuh huuuh huuh,,,,, like. Initially I tought that is because the car has 4WD so it might be normal. I remember though driving Isuzu Amigo, Toyota 4Runner (owned in the past) I did not recall sound like this. So....

I did some testing:

1. When I drive faster the sound increases in frequency but the noise is the same

2. When driving 40mp/h I put the lever on N gear the sound is still present

3. When I shut off the engine the sound is still present (no change).

4. We tried so far to lift all 4 wheels and put it on D gear but after a moment certain wheels stop spinning (I know this is normal). So far I discovered some vibration from transmission but it is har to determine if the sound was still present (I would rather say - no).

5. The tires are quite new (I would say about year or 2 old) but are crap - cheap. I'm thinking about replacing them although I doubt this is a tire issue.