Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Pls help diagnose and evaluate: exhaust restriction (cat?) 1995 Legacy, EJ22

(I'm a forum newbie and a newbie auto mechanic - I just retired and don't need to pay our mechanic to fix the car immediately so I can go to work - so I'm trying to learn to do what I can. I'm handy and resourceful, just never applied it much to cars since my 1965 Dodge Dart! This is my first experience with EFI and OBDII.)

1995 Legacy wagon L, EJ22; no EGR; 5-speed manual; ~243K

Have owned since ~49K and done oil/fluids maintenance myself. We live in PA, so we have annual inspections. All repair work has been done by pros and, I think, by pretty good and reliable ones. We've tried to hit the maintenance milestones per Subaru and my trusty Haynes manual. 

The car has been very reliable until:

- driving to the local store and experienced rough idle and running

- another local trip and it stalled - engine just quit - started up without problem and got me home

- would start easily but would not idle without goosing gas

- had it towed to shop; they said it needed a new MAF, new plugs and wires, and had an exhaust leak

I replaced the MAF with a unit from NAPA and was able to drive it home from the shop.

At home:

- I replaced the plugs and wires. Our records show they had not been done since 150K

- I replaced the PCV valve

- The donut gasket at the joint from the second cat to the pipe to the muffler was bad, so I replaced that and the 2 spring bolts.

Still had intermittent idling and running problems. When it ran well, it ran great - better than before.

After consulting several Youtube sources, bought a SCAN tool and a vacuum gauge.

With Autel AL519 SCAN tool:

- O2 sensors indicate that downstream sensor is jumping around instead of maintaining a small range around .5 volt. I understand this suggests that catalytic converter/s is/are not doing its/their job ) (have 2 inline).