Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Forester

Hello, newbie here trying to navigate around. I'm considering purchasing a Forester Limited within the next couple of months. What I would like to know from those who own Foresters is what are your gripes? Are the problems inherent to this model? Also what do you find special about them in comparison to the competition. Thank You

I'm looking at a 2017. Just wondering if any persistent problems are carried over year after year. They seem to have addressed the issue with the timing belt by going to a timing chain. I understand there has been a problem with many being oil burners and I'm not sure if its still an issue. I have heard that some have issues the rear hatch opening on its own, the fuel gauge not reading correctly and few other issues. Just wondering if they are widespread or just isolated issues. Some have said the light in the cargo are is not sufficient. The cargo area light can probably be fixed by adding a aftermarket light. I also have heard that they are higher in cost to service than comparable SUVs. On the upside I believe they hold their value better than most vehicles. Thank you for your response to my questions.

I will admit I haven't dealt with a 2016 or 2017 forester myself yet. But i have dealt with a 2015 model and have done a fair bit of reading on Subaru in general.

The timing chain that are now on these engines help keep the service costs down for sure. Usually timing chain's don't have issues for well over 300k miles which is certainly a plus.

The oil consumption issue has been on going (from what I've read) since they introduced the new generation engine in 2011/2012 (Engine code FB25) with the early models having serious issues causing the lawsuit many have heard about.

I believe that Subaru has been making on going changes addressing the oil consumption issue with every newer modeled engine put out.