Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Failed Emissions, No idea where to start!

'86 GL 4wd 5speed, hitachi non-feedback carb.

Failed for high HC and CO, according to the emissions testing graph, seems like its running rich mostly at idle, but seemingly all throughout the rev range.

I recently rebuilt the motor for headgaskets, and im not sure i hooked all the lines up to the carb correctly.

Car runs and drives OK. Has a stumble when cold from 2-3k rpm and sometimes hesitates on sudden throttle.

I also noticed a fuel smell at times as well, both from the rear and in the engine bay. I assume this means something is clogged with my evap system? Not really sure where to begin with this car at this point.

I would also like to add that I am at high altitude (Colorado) and my car does not seem to have a high altitude compensator. Also I passed emissions just fine 2 years ago when I bought the car.

Thanks in advance.

Edited by Acheeze

I'm not a carb expert. Sounds like it running rich, from your description and emissions results. If the vacuum lines are not right, you have little chance of passing.

If you don't have a fsm, find one, or an online copy. That should help with the emmisions system connections, and more.