Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Subarute (small truck made from a Subaru wagon)

sawdust_tom

Greetings All,

I'm interested in building (or having built for me) a small pickup truck from an older Subaru AWD wagon (Subarute). I have a good budget but I don't know how to get started in the design process.

I'm definitely going to outsource most of the body work, mechanical, etc. to qualified technicians.

Can anyone point me to some postings where someone has done something similar.

When it's done, I want it to be road legal (in Ohio) and to look / run really well. I'm hoping to build the bed on the Subarute myself (I'm actually a woodworker/furniture maker).

Where should I start?

What older model Subaru wagons would be a good starting point?

I certainly don't need massive horsepower but I'd like to be able to tow up to 5000 lbs. if it is possible. I only want two front seats - all the rest can be dedicated to the Subarute bed.

Thanks in advance for any ideas or guidance.

• Like 1

Try getting a good look at the Baja Outback Legacy, think about moving the back cap forward, losing the rear doors, as much as can allowing for front seat travel and tilt. See if replacement sheet metal is available to assemble the hardest parts of it. Then fill the gaps. Find an H6 wagon, maybe upgrade to 5x114 hubs if able to for bigger bearings, H6 brakes are the largest rears that will fit 16", maybe 15" for LT tires for added weight carrying... but 5,000 lbs is a Big ask. Try a Tribeca? Or lighten the load.

b.

Find an older car or pickup with a separate chassis and stick the Subaru body on top. No Subaru is going to come close to towing that amount of weight safely. It's not the amount of horsepower that is the limitation, it's the chassis design just isn't capable of handling 5000 lbs. Around 3500 lbs would be more likely.

• Like 2

• 3 months later...
  • 2 weeks later...