Ultimate Subaru Message Board

EA81 block in need of machine work?

Hi guys! I'm the proud owner of an '83 GL wagon, and I've been working on rebuilding the engine for a while now, but before I went to put it back together, I noticed some... cracks? Right at the top of the cylinder. I'm fairly new to engine rebuilding, and yes, I've heard that rebuilding the engines is a losing proposition for these cars, but I'm already elbows deep in this project......

Anyways, does anyone know if these need to be fixed before I start putting everything back together? And if so, does anyone have a good recommendation for a machine shop in the Portland area?

post-64013-0-53624400-1497083818_thumb.jpg

How far do you have the engine torn down?

That is not an easy thing to fix. In fact it probably isn't economically repairable.

That said, most likely it will continue to run like that for some time. That appears to be deterioration of the aluminum above the cylinder liner. It's not a crack - the aluminum is deteriorating in that area due to the corrosive nature of exhaust gasses, etc.

If you want to completely rebuild the engine, bring it to my shop and we can see what can be done. Most likely we would start with a different block. While anything can be repaired, the machine cost of sleeving a block (if we can buy sleeves from Darton, etc in that size) is around $1000 plus the cost of the sleeves.

Getting parts for these engines is becoming next to impossible as well. Just finding intake valves for the 83+ heads is nearly impossible.

GD

• Like 1

I have it torn all the way down, the only thing I haven't done yet is taken the connecting rods off of the crank yet and taken the valves out to check the seats.

I do have another block, but I don't know the history of it (bought it from a guy on Craigslist). It's from a turbo gl, but it has some damage to one of the cylinders that looks like this:

post-64013-0-86256200-1497122281_thumb.jpgpost-64013-0-53465200-1497122370_thumb.jpg