Ultimate Subaru Message Board

No Power

Hello everyone i am in need of some help, im new to the subaru world and i just picked up a 84 4wd gl wagon, and the guy told me that it needed just a fuel pump , well i changed the fuel pump out, stupid of me for now follow my own diag steps, anyways wasnt the fuel pump turned out to be the timing well the guy aka one of my inlaws that i bought it from said he knew what the problem was  since it wasnt the fuel pump, well he rotated the engine over til tdc and picked up the distributor  and rotated and set it back in, it took a couple of tries to find the sweet spot but in the end he got it started and driving, now on my adventure home which was an hour away, the car ran great on level roads but AS SOON AS an incline showed up i lost all engine power to where i had to slowly drop gears to keep the rpms up so it could make it up a hill at one point i was going up a decent hill on the highway and i could only go about 10mph in first gear up the hill, , if i left it in drive it would just back fire like crazy,am i looking at pulling the engine and doing a timing job or is it something much more simple, Im sorry for being so scattered , if i need to give any more info just let me know

I'm really confused....

Is the timing set correctly now? (I don't know the procedure for an EA81 off the top of my head...).

Considering it's unknown history, I think I would throw some new spark plugs (NGK V-power) in it, and do a compression test while at it. That'll give you an idea of the condition of the bottom end. Maybe wires, cap, and rotor.

Then start looking for vacuum leaks. These late carbureted cars were choked with vacuum operated solenoids and such, so there are a ton of vacuum lines that could be leaking.

If the ignition is in good shape, and it's got good compression, there's a reasonable chance it's carb-related.