Ultimate Subaru Message Board

2015 Outback 2.5 engine - oil consumption

Greetings,

I hope I am posting this in the right forum ( newby here :) )

Here is the story:

- in october '14 I got a new Subaru Outback (2015 model) with 2.5 engine.

- until last week it all went flawlessly-  no issues whatsoever.

- Wile driving on HWY the "oil level is low ... " came up. I was just about 2500 miles from my previous oil change. 

I had to stop to a gas station and get some oil in to continue the journey. It took a quart to come up at the regular level.

Today I went to the "stealership" and they told me that it is "normal" for a car that has 53k miles to "use oil".

Now, I am no rocket scientist, but if the math adds up correctly, that would be 2 qt. of oil between oil changes( ??!). 

Based on your experience, would you consider the following:

a-) get rid of it - not worth the trouble

b-) try to find a dealership that would work on it ( if they want to acknowledge the issue ) ?

c-) as I have extended warranty from Subaru, run it till the wheels falls off ? and expect them to fix it in case the engine goes bust ?

Thank you in advance, and I appreciate if you can share your experience - if any .... or seen similar cases for this model.

Take it to another dealer and ask for an oil consumption test.  If it burns more than 1/3 qt or 10.7 oz  quart in 1200 miles they will put in a new short block under warranty.  This is a well known issue and Subaru issued an extended warranty for the FB engine.

Oops, it did not apply to 2015 Outbacks 

https://www.girardgibbs.com/subaru-oil-consumption-class-action-lawsuit/

https://www.cars.com/articles/2011-15-subaru-oil-consumption-update-1420683845519/

May want to check if it has any oil leaks.  How often do you change your oil and what oil do you use?

Edited by Mike104
  • Like 1

If it burns more than 1 quart in 1200 miles