Ultimate Subaru Message Board

98 2.5L Phase I crankshaft movement?

Hi all, here's a good one for ya.

I've been fighting with my 98 OBW for about 6 months now. Engine is the infamous 2.5L Phase I. It started with the exhaust smelling like raw gas and engine codes saying 301, 302... misfires. Every shop I took it to said that I had burnt valves. Pulled the engine and had both heads reworked and pressure tested. Put it all back together and the same problem came back :( . Poor accel, smelly exhaust, and check engine lights. Took it to the dealer that I do a lot of business with and asked them to give me a truthful diag of the situation. They said to just trade it in because they couldn't figure it out either. Not an option. So, back into the garage to do some more investigation. Checked the valve lash. Not bad but a few need adjusting. Now the kicker... I was poking around with an pry bar (gingerly) to see if anything was loose and found that if I put it behind the crank pulley and gave it a slight push toward the back of the car the crank moved to the front of the car. Got a rough measurement and it looks like it is moving close to a 1/16th of an inch. I don't think this is good!

Question is, is there an end play measurement on the crank like the old VW's or is the bottom end done?

Thanks for the help.