Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I recently replaced an idle air control valve and the check engine light is still on and the idle is still rough. Do I need to reset the ecu? Or do I have a faulty wire? I'm a bit unsure because normally I've never had to reset the ecu.

Edited by Ubatz
  • Like 1

What is the code? Eg. Circuit fault or position error?

Check power and ground at sensor.

I'm still learning Subaru's, I know the GM linear egr valves must have the battery disconnected for the computer to set the new normal closed valve voltage.

Would not hurt anything and, best of all, its free and easy.

• Like 1

What is the code? Eg. Circuit fault or position error?

Check power and ground at sensor.

I'm still learning Subaru's, I know the GM linear egr valves must have the battery disconnected for the computer to set the new normal closed valve voltage.

Would not hurt anything and, best of all, its free and easy.

It's a code 24. Two long flashes and 4 short ones. the iacv is seperate from the throttle body etc.

There are three or four different code 24 definitions based on year of vehicle.

Try disconnecting battery for a minute or two. It *may* fix the problem, if that does not work I would focus on verifying the wiring to the IAC.

Check for power and make sure the ground is less then 100 millivolts with the circuit powered up, key on engine off or running.

There is a chance the air passages are physically restricted also.

What year, model and engine is your car.

• Like 2

There are three or four different code 24 definitions based on year of vehicle.

Try disconnecting battery for a minute or two. It *may* fix the problem, if that does not work I would focus on verifying the wiring to the IAC.

Check for power and make sure the ground is less then 100 millivolts with the circuit powered up, key on engine off or running.

There is a chance the air passages are physically restricted also.

What year, model and engine is your car.