Ultimate Subaru Message Board

QUACK I've been posting in the wrong section. 

I'll give it another go here. (darn newbies)

I've been searching and googling without any help.

I took off my timing belt before lining up the marks. (yes, I'm a rookie)

Water pump is in and now comes the hard part. (i think)

I turned the crankshaft so the mark is lined up. The intake and exhaust pulleys on the drivers side move but I can't line them because of the pressure.

The intake on the passenger side is stuck and the exhaust is free wheeling.

Should I move the crank around to help with this movement OR should I just apply more pressure on the pulleys?

I'd appreciate any help. Thanks!

• Like 3

Didn’t you ask on another forum or thread?

It’s easy- Line up the crank - then line up the cam pulleys to their marks.

Install belt, check marks.

Done.

They’ll be under pressure and hit “lobes” of high spots from the cams and valve springs. Totally normal - keep turning. If it slips - do it again.

If it hits a hard stop then make sure the crank is properly lined up and the valves aren’t hitting each other. These are interference engines so the valves can hit something / either pistons or valves I forget.

What mark are you using on the crank gear?

Prayerfully the mark that is embossed on the oil pump that has the sensor attached.

The crank key way should then be at 6 o'clock.

If you get to this point the pistons are halfway down and will offer no interference with the valves.

At this point the passenger side will spin freely, but the driver side will load up as you approach the timing mark.

It will sit unless bumped. You can use clothes pins or clamps to hold the belt in place.

The lower idler goes on last, requiring some upward pressure as you catch the threads.

If the cam pulleys are hitting a stop, STOP. Do not force.

You can rotate the crank a little at a time, then the cam pulleys , alternating until they are basically free wheeling.

Then you can align as stated.