Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hi! I am new to group and need advice. I just had new belt and tensioner pulley installed. About 30 miles later it started making awful noise. I called and said it looked like belt is slipping off. He told me to drive it back so he could look at it. All my friends said to NOT drive it. It looks like the belt idler pulley is bent towards engine and belt is about to come off...I also see some metal shavings. I will have it towed there, but I'm afraid they will say it's a separate issue and I will have to pay more. Any thoughts? Perhaps it wasn't installed properly to begin with and caused other pulley to bend? I am surprised he told me to drive it

Very common on that engine. The serpentine pulley bearings should be replaced every 60,000 miles. There are two - or bearing in the pulley and the other in the tensioner pulley. Same 6203 bearing.

$10 for quality Japanese bearings on amazon and they only take 30-60 minutes to replace. Very easy job - do it every 60k and you’ll never have this happen again.

As to your existing issues:

1. Check the work done

2. If the previous pulley was bad enough it may have ruined the mount/bracket the pulley attaches too. Replace the mount. Buy a used or new one.

I can ship you a used one for $37.

It should be this part you need

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-Subaru-Tribeca-Compressor-Bracket-23950AA070-/173149143638

• Like 1

Thank you for advice! Unfortunately I am no a mechanic, so I was looking for advice on previous work done. I am thinking if they improperly installed the tensioner pulley, that it broke the next pulley. I don’t want to get ripped off if that is the case.

It’s hard to say without seeing it.

Questions that might help us:

1. What happened when the first pulley broke? Did you drive it to failure or belt breakage or was it just making noise?

2. What all did they replace - post names/part numbers.

We can work with real data but not foggy ideas.