Ultimate Subaru Message Board

'87 GL Ignition Module Problem

Hi,

I'm a newbie here and need help! I have an intermittant starting problem that I believe may be caused by the ignition module. On my vehicle there's a metal bracket that holds the ignition coil - and below that on the same bracket is what I believe to be the ignition module? It has a big transistor attached and is using the metal bracket as a heat sink. When I'm having the problem, the engine turns over but I don't seem to be getting any fire. So I changed the coil and plug wires - but still have a problem. Is this in fact the ignition module, and does anyone know the part # or a place I can find a replacement?

Thanks

that is not the ignition module...that is the ignition amplifier and it grounds through the bracket. the module for my 86 is in the dizzy, however, the ignition system changed a little in 87 so I am not sure how those work. do a search for ignition module or ignition amplifier and you will find a lot of good reading :)

eric

there is a cerank angle sensor bui,lt into the disty. i am assuming your car is fuel injected (spfi). the dist sends a signal to the ECU for the spark, and fuel pump.

we had a sedan, 88 spfi, 200k, every now and then, usually freezing cold weather, it would crank and crank and no fire. leave it sit for a day and it starts.

we replaced with an accel coil, changed the module. but it was a shot in the dark, did it again the next winter.

eventually the motor found its way in the loyal. the motor ran with no problem in the sedan. but once it was in the 91 loyale, it would die out, tach falls to 0. leave it sit for a minut and it starts, but dies soon after.

we replaced the maf, ignitor, coil, ran again and then stalled. we then replaced the distributor and that solved the problem, we actuall yused the dist from an 87 mpfi turbo, but we swapped the wiring, and the rotor fit(looked better) and that worked with our 88 spfi motor in a 91 loyale