Ultimate Subaru Message Board

A few months ago i crashed my '92 Paseo into a farm tractor. I commute to the local college every day so I really needed a car. I found a 1998 Impreza 2.5 rs for sale. It was in nice condition, except for some minor rust which i patched up, it had about 70k miles on it. I ended up paying a little over 7,000 for it (I hope i didnt over pay?). I really like this car. Its fun to drive, it looks cool, and it gets decent gas mileage. The problem is i deliver food for a living. In the past 4 months i have driven just shy of 20k miles. Alot of times im forced to drive the car places i would not normally go: dirt roads, fields, flooded roads..... I have to accelerate very hard several times a night. I would quit my job for the car's sake but i make so much money working there. So far nothing has gone wrong. I heard alot about the Head Gasket giving people trouble. If and when something goes wrong is it worth the money to fix it or should i sell it to some one who could take better care of it?

You can't predict individual cars........

You can base a reasonable guess based off the manufacturers track record.

I got my 82 Hatch 22 years ago and I'm still driving it.

That's what inspired me to get another Subaru.

Hummmmmmm..........

Glenn

82 SubaruHummer, goes like the Eveready Bunny!

01 Forester, goes like a bat out of He!!, except when the A/C is on.

It will last as long as you want it too. :)

My '88 GL should be at a junkyard right now. Blew up the engine a long time ago. Rebuilt it and just keep replacing stuff as I go. She'll go untill I wont make her go any more.

Same with your car :)

It's too bad you didn't find a 2.2L vehicle. A bit less hp, but (as time is proving), a much more reliable engine.