Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Justy linkage/tranny trouble!

I have a 1992 Justy that has been sitting around for a couple months because of a transmission issue. I'm not sure how hard it would be to fix or how much trouble it would be.

My problem:

I was parking one day and I put the car into reverse, and it got stuck and wouldn't come out. Afterwards I noticed that the bolt that holds together and keeps the external linkage in sync had fallen out. I've been able to put the car into 5th gear with lots of trouble, but it's pretty much stuck in reverse.

Is this a known issue? I'm not sure if the internal linkage is stuck or the shifter or what. I'm not a mechanic (or good with cars, even). I've read mention of a "removing the tension" trick, but I don't know how that may be performed.

I had a guy look at it, and he said it might just be the shifter. But who knows?

I'd really appreciate any help.

Thanks!

• 10 months later...

The syncronizers were really poor in the Justy trannys and the most common reason they stick in gear is that afterm many miles the syncronizers get so deeply grroved the guid pins just jam in the grooves. You can sometimes rotate the gear one tooth and reassemble and the problem is gone.

Another reason they lock up is the shifter fork can break off and jam the sliding gear train.

Either way the tranny has to be cracked open to fix.

Slim

• 1 year later...

I was searching having the same issue. I have a 91 subaru justy just had a new motor put in it in january. I came home stopped on a hill at my place. Came back out and was about too leave. And started the car putting it in reverse. The reverse is stuck. Even when i put the clutch petal too the floor and the emergency break off it wont roll back.. I dont know what I did wrong any help?

robert

Guys,

:eek: