Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I was moving this weekend and somewhere in the process, put a small little ding on one of the right passenger door panel on my 03 OBW. It's not obvious but it's definitely there.

Has anyone every used any commerically available dent remover products(ie ding king etc) to remove dings? I don't want to pay a body shop to remove the small ding but it just bugs me that the ding is there.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thank you.

danz75

I've used the Dent Wizard franchisee in Peabody, MA several times. They've been excellent. A single dent is usually repaired for $50 or $75 and you can't see where it was damaged at all. I had three dents from a shopping cart fixed for $275, it would have been nearly $500 from a typical body shop and they did it in an afternoon.

New car dealers use them all the time.....

http://www.dentwizard.com/site/US/EN/index.htm

I've never tried one of the fix-it gizmos before. They might work like a dream, but I don't know how they do it. Only thing I can think of would be suction, but it seems like it would take an unreal amount of that to actually pull out a dent "cleanly".

I am no body man by trade, but I have grown up doing home-guy repairs. Typically, bigger dents are taken out w/ a dent puller--a long rod w/ a screw attached on the end. You drill a hole, screw in the rod, then pull back on a sliding striker that's attached around the rod. The key is to go gradually. Then you usually take a body hammer and smooth it out, followed by a small dab of body filler. For little dings, I usually sand off the paint, apply a dab of body filler from a tube, sand, and dab w/ touchup paint.

Both of those aren't of any use if you don't want to fool w/ applying a small amount of filler and touchup paint.