Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Warped Rotors -- 2002 Forester

I bought my 2002 Forester brand new. It now has 31,000 miles on it. The rotors on the brakes have warped twice and been ground (or whatever). It's time to do it again. The service dept. is telling me it's my problem, that I must brake too hard. I've been driving for 37 years and have never had this problem before. It seems to start up again in the summer, when the weather's in the 100s and I've been on a long drive of start and stop driving. I do mostly flat driving -- no mountains. If I have to make a panic stop, it's guaranteed to warp the rotors again.

This is my first Subaru. Is this a common problem?

Of course the rotors are not a warranty item. Would I be out of place suggesting that they replace them under warranty anyway?

Guest lothar34

How many times can the rotors be ground before they need to be replaced? I think I'd have mine replaced if they had already been ground twice.

Do you ever drive through water while they're hot?

Well. . . after any emergency (or other hard condition) stop, it's best not to stay on the brake pedal. Right after that is when the pads are cooking, and keeping them in contact with the rotors WILL eventually warp them.

If you must brake hard, let-off the brakes if you can to let the pads and rotors cool before stopping completely. Or, if you're in an automatic, you can pull over and put it in "park" without setting the parking brake. The transmission will keep you from rolling anywhere, and you'll not be keeping the pads pressed against the rotors while everything's cooling-off.

If you have to replace your rotors, you may want to consider upgrading to a design that will cool-down faster than your OEM ones.

they just recieve uneven deposits. The guy who did the brake work for Carrol Shelby on the Cobras, whose name escapes me at the moment, has written an interesting article on this. I have it at work if you are interested.