Ultimate Subaru Message Board

As yall may know I have a 90 Legacy L Wagon AWD Auto. Seeing as to how I was a professional car audio installer and am now an MCSE IT Consultant, I installed a toggle switch and in-line fuse for my AWD override under the hood. I nver really thought about the effects of doing this though. Is it safe to engage and disengage while at low and high speed? Should the vehicle be in park only? Does it matter if I do it with the car running? Come on Scooby junkies....step up to the plate on this one. No guesses please. I need solid facts. I am most likely going to be selling her soon, or making it a semi-rally car but I would still like to know.

I don't think my wife would let me keep three cars for off-road only.

As yall may know I have a 90 Legacy L Wagon AWD Auto. Seeing as to how I was a professional car audio installer and am now an MCSE IT Consultant, I installed a toggle switch and in-line fuse for my AWD override under the hood. I nver really thought about the effects of doing this though. Is it safe to engage and disengage while at low and high speed? Should the vehicle be in park only? Does it matter if I do it with the car running? Come on Scooby junkies....step up to the plate on this one. No guesses please. I need solid facts. I am most likely going to be selling her soon, or making it a semi-rally car but I would still like to know.

I don't think my wife would let me keep three cars for off-road only.

i would say that there's a reason why my parent's GMC Yukon won't go into 4x4 if it's in motion. i would imagine that what you've hooked up is pretty much the same thing (a push button that goes from 2x4 to 4x4) if i were you (sorry for the "guessing") i'd play it safe and do as the SUVs do. have the car running, in neutral, and not moving.

and that is a very educated guess.

but my question is...

would installing the fuse improve gas mileage?

i was talking to the guys at work about this and one said no and one said yes.