Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Is anyone running synthetic fluids in their subies?

Now I've never had a subie worth putting synthetic fluids into, they've all been on the junker side of things, but now that I have a decent subie, I'm going to give it the royal treatment and go completely syn. I have been running Valvoline Syn power 10w-30 in my VW GTI for almost three years now, and realize how much my Vdub appreciates it. It's nice knowing your oil is going the extra mile for you with seal swell agents, and sticky molecules to keep everything buttery smooth. Did I mention the horsepower increase? My butt dyno noticed a serge in power after going synth...me likey!

My second choice for a high quality lube is the Mobil 1 synthetic 10w-30. It's not as slippery as the valvoline, but in comparison to regular oils, Mobil 1 blows their doors off.

So just wondering if anyone else is running synth, and if so...what kind?

Also, what weight oil/ lube goes into the tranny. I believe it was 80, but I do not remember. Thanks and any help or replies.

look into getting amsoil, its what i use when i can afford it, that and they have a huge change interval selection. they have motor oils that range from 7500 to 25000 miles between changes.not that i would go that long tough, i try to do mine every 5000miles. its some good stuff,

Engine: Mobil 1 synthetic 10w-30

Gears: Quaker State synthetic 75w-90

I still testify that Mobil 1 is the only thing that kept one of my engines alive. Last year I had #1 lose all its rings. 75 psi compared to 150 in the others. I had to run it another 6000 miles, and it didn't complain one bit. It burned a quart every 400 miles or so. I'm positive that if I were running dino oil, it would have been much much worse and likely wouldn't have made it that long. I think it would have burned off faster, possibly running out of oil, and the reduced thermal stability of the dino oil wounldn't have been good for an engine like that.