Ultimate Subaru Message Board

BOB trannyectomy successful, BRAT in recovery.

s'ko

So the day has finally come.

The cruddy clutch that was in my BRAT gave out. I have hoping to get a little more use out of it, but no such luck. It's stuck in fourth.

So getting a brand new clutch kit for $102.00 and gonna slap that sucker in. Ok maybe not slap as it will probably take me twice as long to do this b/c it's my first time. I am going for the engine removal method.

I plan to re-seal oil pan and the valve covers and adjust the valves.

Anything else I need to do?

Also what other parts do you anticipate I need. Like exhaust gaskets or something like that. I did soak the exhaust bolts w/some wd-40, hopefully they won't break off.

wish me luck.

BW

sounds like you got the game plan all set out. Those sound like the only gaskets you're gonna need....oil pan, valvecovers, maybe a rear main oil seal if its leaking, pilot bearing, throwout bearing, clutch disc, pressure plate and I would recommend getting the flywheel machined if it can be. Just make sure you grease the input shaft of the tranny for the T.O. bearing and the tip of it for the pilot bearing. It also makes it a little easier on reinstalling the engine giving it a little bit to slide on.

the rear main seal is behind the flywheel. you may want to have it resurfaced as well. once you take off the flywheel you will see the seal, along with a smaller "O-ring" flat rubber seal. (I've never found a replacement for the flat rubber seal).

for the front crank seal, you have to take off the front pulley to get at it....

do you have the "How to keep your subaru alive" book? if not, email me... :)

Well it went much worse than I thought it would go.

Got the engine out Friday night. So we tried to work the shifter and it's STILL STUCK IN 4th. So basically the tranny is screwed.