Ultimate Subaru Message Board

HELP...!! 1986 Subaru GL 1.8L F.I, Oil Pump, Water,Timing Belts

Hi All,

A newbie here with a recently obtained 1986 Subaru Gl Wagon 1.8L , Fuel Injected, Automatic. This baby has 152,000 miles on it. Great shape. I have the "Tick of Death" though, and am replacing oil pump, (reading here I got valueble info on going ahead) and replacing water pump, timing belts , cam and crankshaft seals.

My questions are:

1) Is there anything else that I should go ahead and replace (inexpensively) since I am getting this done?

2) What about this so-called "relief valve" with a spring? Should I get the spring replaced?

3) Also, I have noticed a "surge" in the idle , meaning it will go to 2000 rpm, starting, after driving a few miles, whenever. Also, it goes up and down. What would be the cause of that? Mostly it seems stuck at 2000K. I have almost rear-ended a few cars, lol. (maybe that has something to do with timing?) or is it fuel injected related? or even a throttle control of sorts?

I have read here a while, and have searched for alot of these questions, (and have found alot of answers, thanks you:).!! But these would really help me alot. Maybe one more question, how many "mechanic hours" do you think the above would entail? I have been quoted at 5.5 on average.

Thank you so much for your time, and have been so grateful for all the info i have had on this site. ( I bought my parts through a suggestion here) So I am learning. Thanks again for any help.!!!

Also, Please explain this -