Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Help me defeat a pathalogical liar, plz.

Hey guys,

I am currently a student at a tech school known as WyoTech, or Wyoming Technical Institute, and you would not believe some of the tall tales people tell about their cars around here. I personally drive a 94 Legacy 4AT which I love (except I wish it were a stick!), so I have no issues being honest about my ride...heck, when it snows I can finally run circles around the Camaros, lol.

Here is my conundrum. I was talking with a guy last night at class who tells me about his car, a 99 Forester. I say, "Hey, is that the green one?" "Yeah," he says. So I know it is a Forester L because I have seen it and I am kinda a badge junky (sorry, lol). He then says "...turbo." I immediately blurt, "No, it's not." which then degraded into a silly sounding argument. He asked some other guys around about it, and one says "Yeah, you can get Subarus with a factory turbo" but I corrected him, saying "No, unless he got a transplant [which he denied] he is not driving a turbo; the only turbo'd Forester is the XT which wasn't around till '03, and no Subarus came with a factory turbo between '94 and '02 (late) with the WRX."

So, I still want to be humble and open to being wrong, but if you could dispell this myth for me that would be awesome.

thanks in advance!

-Roy

Ah yes wyotech. I had a friend who attended there. The first time I ever saw a student with a leaf blower on a 3 inch lifted metro...seriously.

I used to be the same way. I've learned life is too short to argue over what someone thinks my or their car has. But if it really bugs you that much you could print out the specifications online of the years or just pop the hood :P