Jump to content


Welcome to Ultimate Subaru Message Board, my lurker friend!

Welcome to Ultimate Subaru Message Board, an unparalleled Subaru community full of the greatest Subaru gurus and modders on the planet! We offer technical information and discussion about all things Subaru, the best and most popular all wheel drive vehicles ever created.

We offer all this information for free to everyone, even lurkers like you! All we ask in return is that you sign up and give back some of what you get out - without our awesome registered users none of this would be possible! Plus, you get way more great stuff as a member! Lurk to lose, participate to WIN*!
  • Say hello and join the conversation
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Classifieds with all sorts of Subaru goodies
  • Photo hosting in our gallery
  • Meet other cool people with cool cars
Seriously, what are you waiting for? Make your life more fulfilling and join today! You and your Subaru won't regret it, we guarantee** it.

* The joy of participation and being generally awesome constitutes winning
** Not an actual guarantee, but seriously, you probably won't regret it!

Serving the Subaru Community since May 18th, 1998!

Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo
- - - - -

1990 Legacy Wagons speedometer dead but not other gauges


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 coloradosubarules

coloradosubarules

    Banned

  • Banned
  • 870 posts
  • Port St. Lucie

Posted 30 December 2004 - 02:20 AM

I was coming home from picking the kids up from daycare when I looked down to notice the speedometer was dead. All the other guages are working fine.
Has anyone ever had this happen? Is the speedo on my 4EAT electric or cable driven? Any advice would help.

#2 syphon

syphon

    Subaru Fanatic!

  • Members
  • 423 posts
  • Kirkland

Posted 30 December 2004 - 02:27 AM

Most likely your speedo cable is broken. (almost positive it's cable, at least, my '93 turbo is a cable speedo).

It's a common problem that when it's cold, a speedo cable on a legacy will be overly noise and the speedo will jump for a while. I guess they didnt engineer the speedo cables very well.

#3 Legacy777

Legacy777

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 12,614 posts
  • Houston, Tx

Posted 30 December 2004 - 10:40 AM

It's the speedo cable base piece that goes into the transmission.

All the first gen legacy speedo's are cable driven from the transmission into the gauge cluster.

It is VERY VERY common for these to fail. The swivel piece inside sheers off, and the speed just doesn't work.

When you take it out, make sure to get the rubber piece and the metal washer out of the hole.

here's a pic & the part # of the piece in question. It's pretty cheap.

http://www.main.expe...docablebase.jpg

#4 kudd

kudd

    USMB Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Lincoln,VT

Posted 30 December 2004 - 10:57 AM

Manna-cabanna.... I don't think I'll ever get over what a great site this is!!!! Look at this, someone asks a question and within minutes (well a few minutes) an answer and a photo!!!! Truly awe inspiring!

Cheers! :drunk: ...and subie on!

Kudd

#5 coloradosubarules

coloradosubarules

    Banned

  • Banned
  • 870 posts
  • Port St. Lucie

Posted 30 December 2004 - 11:52 AM

As always, thanks for the help Josh. I will be checking the car out in just a few minutes now that I know what to look for.

Kudd,

We here at USMB are one giant Roo loving family. We are glad that you have decided to come on-board. If you ever have a question feel free to ask. If you ever have an answer....feel free to tell. It all helps. Be sure to check out the "off-topic" section where we go to cut-up.


Greg

#6 Legacy777

Legacy777

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 12,614 posts
  • Houston, Tx

Posted 30 December 2004 - 03:34 PM

Welcome,

Most of the stuff I respond to....I know about because I had it happen to me ;)

#7 Huffer

Huffer

    USMB Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Eastlake

Posted 13 January 2005 - 01:33 PM

Out of interest, do you fellas know if it's the same issue on a 98 GT Legacy? My speedo intermittently fails to start when I'm rolling out the driveway - usually in colder weather. Once I'm a little ways down the road (doing 40mph - I can tell by the tach and 4EAT shifts) the speedometer needle jumps back up and is fine again.

Usually only happens once a week, and I've only had 2 CELs from it (over a 6month period).

Can I get to the speedo cable base peice without removing the transmission?

#8 Legacy777

Legacy777

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 12,614 posts
  • Houston, Tx

Posted 13 January 2005 - 06:53 PM

The newer models don't have a mechanical cable going from the transmission to the combination meter. They have a speed sensor, and relay that info back to the combination meter where the motor in the combination unit makes the speedo turn.

It's possible some dirt or other gunk got in there and the speed sensor can't read the gear. Or it might be an electrical issue. Without diagnosing some more, it'd be a little hard to pin point it.

#9 Huffer

Huffer

    USMB Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Eastlake

Posted 13 January 2005 - 08:30 PM

Ok, well here's some other things I've discovered about this intermittent problem

When the speedo fails:
1. The cruise control doesn't work
2. The 4EAT shifts exactly the same

So I'm not sure but might it have something to do with the cruise control unit? I mean, if that unit sits in between the speed sensor and the speedometer, and intercepts the signal when I use CC?

#10 Gnuman

Gnuman

    1000+ Super USER!

  • Members
  • 1,399 posts
  • Richmond, CA

Posted 14 January 2005 - 12:55 AM

Ok, well here's some other things I've discovered about this intermittent problem

When the speedo fails:
1. The cruise control doesn't work
2. The 4EAT shifts exactly the same

So I'm not sure but might it have something to do with the cruise control unit? I mean, if that unit sits in between the speed sensor and the speedometer, and intercepts the signal when I use CC?

There is a Vhicle Speed Sensor Buffer in the dash (behind the speedo) that the CC uses to set speed. There are two speed sensors on the tranny as well. IIRC Legacy777 has pictures of where these are. Any of them failing will cause the speedo and the CC to fail as well. Not sure if they are used for shifting of the 4EAT, though. That may be an RPM thing. . .

#11 Huffer

Huffer

    USMB Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Eastlake

Posted 14 January 2005 - 09:44 AM

Great! Thanks a lot for your help...hopefully someone can tell me where to check for the two speed sensors on the tranny... the one behind the dash (attached to it?) I can get to, I pulled the dash out awhile back with no problems.

#12 coloradosubarules

coloradosubarules

    Banned

  • Banned
  • 870 posts
  • Port St. Lucie

Posted 14 January 2005 - 01:21 PM

I am pretty sure the speed sensors are IN the tranny. I could be wrong though.

I orderd the part for my speedo but I still have to pick it up. Lazy me.

#13 Legacy777

Legacy777

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 12,614 posts
  • Houston, Tx

Posted 15 January 2005 - 11:44 AM

The newer models have both speed sensors on the transmission, not in the dash, and yes speedo & cc will both not work if the speedo don't work. If your speedo was out for long enough it would affect the transmission shifting, and the lockup of the torque converter. Eventually the fans would stay on as well. It takes a few miles for this to happen though.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users