Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Questions about snow driving/snow tires

I'm looking forward to finally being able to go snowboarding this season (sad snow season in Seattle/Snoqualmie area this year)! In previous years I wasn't the one with car but this year I am; unfortunately I have no experience driving in snowy/icy conditions. I've always heard that Subarus are great in the snow, and my '88 wagon is in terrific shape (four wheel drive, manual transmission), but it also seems awfully light (my other car is a '76 Plymouth Scamp and the weight difference between the two is phenomenal!).... Any tips for driving in snowy/icy conditions?

Also, some of the trips will be further away and in snowier places than Snoqualmie; I'm wondering if I should invest in snow tires or chains. Not knowing a thing about either of them I'm curious:

Snow tires vs. chains - which are better?

There are rules about driving on city roads in snow tires, aren't there? What are they?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Wow! The learning curve for you is going to be high. Chains/ snow tires - get both. That way when you get stuck you can chain up and get out. Get a couple of 50# bags of sand for the back end, put it in 4wd and go like hell. Jam the brakes really hard at all stops and slide head first into whatever is in front of you. Whatever you do, don't take your foot off the pedal once you start sliding as you don't want to regain control or the ability to steer. If the back end starts to come around, don't steer into it; that will counter the slide. Instead steer away from it and floor it. That will spin you completely out of control. Don't pack a shovel either. You want to be as helpless as possible. Of course, don't follw any of the recommendations I have made as they are all hopelessly wrong. Good luck. (except about getting bith chains and snow tires, and the sand)