Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hi Everyone, I'm a newbie on this site but a longtime Subaru owner. My 2000 Legacy GT wagon has developed a pesky water leak and I'm wondering if anyone else has this problem, or even if a service bulletin might exist.

Water is somehow getting into the right rear side of the cargo area and collecting on the floor behind the wheel hump, right where the little storage compartment is. Water is not coming in from hatch or tail light assembly. It leaks while parked in the rain, so I'm thinking it probably isn't being forced into the area from somewhere else. I took it to a body shop today but they're saying they will have to pretty much take the car apart piece by piece to find the leak. Going to the dealership is pretty much a last resort - they are ridiculously expensive and typically not good for much beyond performing scheduled tuneups.

Has anyone else sprung this leak? I'd sure appreciate any suggestions before I pay to have this Subie disasembled. Thanks for your help!

http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/cars/problems/tsb/results.cfm?start=16&SearchType=DrillDown&type=VEHICLE&year=2000&make=SUBARU&model=LEGACY&vehtype=UNK&typenum=1&component_id=0&summary=true

This page has a TSB that concerns water coming in at the front headliner by the map light but I think it's highly unlikely it would travel that far back without breaking out earlier.

My 2 cents says it's the light so duct tape it off and check after next rain. Does the water get in whether you drive or not i.e. is it being spun up by the tires through a body seam?

Thanks for the input, Bro. Water collects inside right rear cargo area, below the little stow compartment, even when the car is parked - which makes me think it isn't being pushed into the area by air pressure or splashed up by tires. (Unless it's being splashed in and then draining slowly, hmmmm.)