Ultimate Subaru Message Board

SVX ASSISTANCE! I found one! I need some help before buying it though

Hi everyone! I'm new here and I'd like to tell you a little about myself. I like video games and I've been hunting down an SVX for a few months. I finally found one and you'll never guess how.

To make a long story short my g/f's mom took a wrong turn to the mall and BAM! I found one. I can afford it too! But first I need to know a few things and get a few recommendations:(.

Now, the car has 191K miles on it but the owner has told me that most of them are highway miles so it's in better shape than most cars (the previous owner used it for trips from NY to FL and back). It's a Subaru SVX LsL 1992, Forest Green and I'd kill to have it! There are a few minor problems with it and I'd like to get some recommendations.

First is the milage, what's the average lifespan of the original engines in the LsL's. Like I said, this one has 191K on it, should I get it? At about when do these cars bite the dust? (it's my first car^_^. I can't believe I found one!!!). There are a few problems with oil leakage.

Now, the engine shape. The owner has told me that the car has been off the road for a year now and if he wanted to he could start it up and it runs good. But the engine drops a cylinder, I'm not totally sure what that means but he said it runs great, picks up great, but shudders when you break. I need to know what could possibly be wrong and if anyone still recommends it.

I know this is getting long but bear with me here:). Now, the car has a brand new torque converter (950! and he's selling it to me for 1K!!!) and brand new tires. The previous owner used it to go down to Florida and back so most miles are highway models (Sorry to sound repetative:(). The cars exterior is in great shape and the interior looks nice too. The current owner did tell me that SVX's can go into the uppe 200K's, is this true?