Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Techworks Installation Questions and Problems thread

I figured that I'd probably have some questions about the installation (or removal of stock parts) so I may as well make a thread about it.

Since I'm no mechanic, I have to be very careful about what I'm taking apart and such since I'm not familiar with a lot of parts in application (only on paper).

Techworks instructions state, "Removal of the engine mounts and raising the front of the engine slightly,will allow easier fitment of the TechWorks Engineering header/up-pipe. (Please note that we have not remove engine mount fasteners for any of the installs we have performed in house)."

I don't quite understand what it means to remove the engine mounts but keep the fasteners in place. ??? Also, I'm trying to identify where the engine mounts are. Remember, talk to me like you would a 6 year old. :o I don't mind since I'm trying to learn about this stuff.

So here are a couple of pics.

EngineMount1.JPG

I'm assuming this is a passenger side engine mount. I'm talking about the piece to the bottom right of the open exhaust port. If so, is this one of the bolts I need to remove/loosen to raise the engine slightly?

Here's another pic:

EngineMount2.JPG

This is what looks like an engine mount on the driver's side of the car. Is the rusted bolt in the center another one of the bolts I need to remove/loosen to raise the engine?

There's also another bolt underneath this 'engine mount' (if this is what this is) that looks like it's attached to the driver's side one.

Here:

EngineMount3.JPG

See this bolt ^ (In the middle section, in the dark area, kinda rusty). It looks like it's on the bottom side of the driver's side engine mount. Do I have to do anything with this bolt also (If I'm getting the engine mount locations correct)?