Ultimate Subaru Message Board

2 cars to build one

Hi all,

I'm still very new to this but I am diving in. As I posted before, my '86 gl wagon 2wd AT FI is giving me trouble so I have been on the look out for a parts car. The result, I happened across an '86 gl wagon 4WD MT Carberated that looks good. I realize this dosn't solve my AT problem but it seems like a good deal anyway at $250 CDN (Thats about $12.87 USD). SO I BOUGHT IT on spec.

I haven't had a chance to really go over the "new" car but it seems in about the same shape as my 2wd except the engine is tired.

So I have a 2wd with bad auto tranny and a 4wd MT with a weak motor.

Now my question.

To build one good car from the 2 I am asking for opinions on what to do.

-Put the good motor in the 4wd and if so, can I also put the FI in with it or should it change?

-Change the 2wd over to MT and/or 4wd

-Find a tranny for the 2wd

-Fix the motor on the 4wd. Can the rings be changed without pulling the motor. I am aware of the method to pull the pins but can they be reached without pulling the motor?

- The 2wd heads were recently done so those could go on the re-ringed 4wd.

Sorry for the length but I am trying to think all this through cause I don't know what is most feasible and I thought I would throw it out to those who know.

Thanks

Maybe fix both??

I would have to say put the efi motor in the carbed 86 gl you just acquired, about 10 more horsepower and better reliability. I believe there was a link about carb-to-efi conversion, search for new posts, should be there as of today. 4wd is awesome, i dont think that it would be too much trouble, only question is do you have another car for a daily driver while you do the conversion.

~Josh~