Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Factory tool required to replace front oil seals?

Newbie here on the forum with a question on replacing the front oil seals (crank/cam/oil pump), timing belt, and water pump on my 98 OB wagon. I want to be sure I have all the necessary tools before I tackle the job.

The docs I have read on replacing the seals call for the subaru factory tool for replacement. Is it possible to use a deep socket? If so, what size socket should I use? Any other tools that will work?

Thanks

I just replaced cam and crank seals, and used some PVC plumbing pieces I had left over from installing a new kitchen sink to drive them in. I worked slowly, tapping them in squarely.

If I had large diameter sockets, that would have been easier, and probably quicker and more professional-like, but what can I say?

The junk plumbing pieces were way cheaper than me buying a new 3/4 drive socket set, although I have had my eye on this certain set for a while... Perhaps my wife wouldn't mind me spending a few extra bucks if it would help decrease our repair costs in the long run...

Matt

• 3 weeks later...

I just finished the job. I did the front crank seal, water pump, oil pump o ring, and timing belt. took a little longer than I expected. But after all the posts I read about this repair in this forum I was well prepared.

I ran into trouble in two spots. First getting the crankshaft pulley off. I tried first with a strap wrench. I think this might have worked if I had help, but doing this alone I needed something that let me have both hands free to wrench on the pulley bolt. I ended up buying a vice-grip chain wrench. Worked like a charm. The chain wrench did do some minor damage to the pulley, but I was fix it with small file. When I put the pulley back on, I put a piece of old drive belt down first to protect the pulley...worked like a charm.