Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hello everyone! I'm new to Subaru, but just picked up a '95 legacy wagon w/93,000 and I'm wondering if any good or harm is done to the Tranny if I select "3" instead of D when tooling around town at 40mph and under? Would it save some internal componants from locking/unlocking as we drive at a speed where Overdrive 4th would engage? Is the 4th gear ratio an overdrive? In this gear, does the torque converter lock up above a certain speed? Thankyou for responding. John

I'm new to Subaru too, so I may not know anything. I have a 95 LSi w/ the auto tranny. If you want to drive around in 3, that shouldn't have any effect on the longevity of the tranny. Basically, I assume, you're just losing the overdrive gear ratio. 3 is totally fine to drive around town in--you can even hit the interstate in 3, but check out that RPM....Now, when you go to 2, you're balancing the power transfer to a 50/50 split front and rear, whereas 3 and D will be a 90/10 split of front/rear power.

Wagons rule.

My 95 will be rolling to 160,000 next week and it's still going strong. My suspicion is that the tranny will need some attention within the next 15,000 miles. The 2.2 is a fantastic engine. Subaru should just start building that engine again with the reputation the 2.2 has built. Get that timing belt replaced if it hasn't had it already. 100K is the recommended spot to replace it.

Boy, this must be the week for 95 Legacy wagons, I just picked up two of them, one on Saturday, and the other on Sunday. I really don't think it would hurt to run around in 3rd, but you will lose that automatic part of an automatic tranny (automatically shifting as needed).