Ultimate Subaru Message Board

how do you make a subaru faster?

im new to the subaru game...

im a muscle head..what i know about modding is taking a camaro, adding some headers, cam, exhaust, intake, air lid and exhaust

besides foced induction is there anything major you can do to make a lecagy faster...

i know im not gonna try take a v8, but are there things i can get for pretty cheap that'll bring me up to maybe 225+ hp?

ya but i got a 330 000*KM* engine

im thinking a turbos gonna drop something on the road in a few months/years

i did a little reserach

in the summer i can pump like 1-2grand into a pulley, up/downpipes and headers, complete intake and full catexhaust

a turbo is a possibility, either that or a new engine with turbo

how would my engine hold up with a turbo, its in really good shape for how old it is and how mand km's

You won't get 225bhp without a turbo.

Porting the heads, custom intake, equal length headers, free flowing exhaust, and a custom programmed ECU might be able to free up to 150bhp.

You'll still be fighting the "conservative" cam lobes. And no-one makes aftermarket cams for your engine.

douglas vincent on legacycentral put a mercedes supercharger on his 2.2. I think he ended up breaking some things, but had like 200chp.

I gave up on any gains long ago. I put some money into my suspension to make it more fun to drive, and when I've got enough to spend on power gains I'll find a Legacy turbo 5-spd. Or just get an STi.

more fuel

more air

more spark

more exhaust flow

add NOS

heheh.. just turbo it and run 10 lbs of nos

Jamal - 200 at the crank? WJM did that with a EA82.. old news

I'd like to see someone do that naturally aspirated out of a 2.2L

Or 400 bhp with a turbo no NOS

ya but i got a 330 000*KM* engine

im thinking a turbos gonna drop something on the road in a few months/years

i did a little reserach