Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Well I guess I am the n00b around here and its interesting getting on a new place... I have been working on Honda's for about ten years and have gotten tired of ricers and know it alls ruining the rep for the true honda enthusiasts. I am the new owner of a GF8 Impreza and am enjoying the hell out of the power and lack of. So here is my question:

I am wanting/going to swap out the 1.8l out for either the EJ20DET or DETT still debating (input on that would be great). I am leaning more towards the TT. My brother and I own a Tuner shop in Texas (he is the sole owner now, I had to move on) , but we have connections in Japan and I want to get the engine direct from Japan. I am wondering what all I will need and what extra's I will need to get.

Also how will or if the EJ18 bolt up and or handle the power of the turbo. Also what type of turbo's besides the IHI will bolt to the EJ turbo manifolds

What kind of mods do you all recommend on the tranny side to handle this kind of horse I am really looking to build a 300+ hp daily driver since that is what it will be while I have my 240SX under the knife for 8 months?

TIA and I look forward to posting here and making it my new home on the web!

don't waste your time thinking of the twin turbo swap. It will not fit in the LHD cars, without major shoe horning.

Best bet, go get a used USD WRX motor and swap it in. That's going to be the easiest and probably cheapest route.

May also want to check out http://www.nasioc.com if you haven't already.

Also, just to note, those engine designations are incorrect. It's just EJ20T & EJ20TT. There are different varients of the EJ20 blocks, which get letters on occasion, eg EJ20G. But there isn't any DET or DETT, those are nissan motor designations that have some how found there way to subaru motors through misinformation on the internet.