Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I had a exhaust leak

My 89 GL 10 wagon has had a exhaust leak that I was just putting off. You could hear it under the hood in the area of the turbo. It even felt like I was losing power because of it. I finally decided to check out the problem a few days ago. Where the down pipe bolts to the turbo it was leaking exhaust. I unbolted it and the flange fell off the pipe. It had broke at the weld. A clean break too. No rot on the pipe either. Looked like a stress crack. Lucky for me I build headers for a living so I pulled the pipe out and took it to work and welded it all back together. Now back in the car I swear it runs better. It feels stronger too. Maybe it is just in my head but it had been this was as long as I have had it. Has anybody else had this kind of break before? Is this a common problem with these turbo down pipes? Just curious.

I don't have a turbo. But on my Brat I had a bad leek where they bolt onto the cylinder head. Most of the bolts holes were stripped. So I put inserts in the heads and done them up real tight with new gaskets. No bad noise, more power. I think it would make more difference with a turbo. But every one should make sure there exhurst isn't leeking before upgrading anything for more power.

i have the same problem with the stripped holes on the cylinder heads where the exhaust bolts up. Heli-coil to the rescue for sure. And it sealed up perfectly!!! I am glad someone invented a way to repair threads. Hey subieguy have you made a custom header for an EA81 that doesn't have a cat and instead just a collector??? I would be interested in having one......

I just got my 84 turbo running, in to process of puting my new moter in i moved the downpipe away so i could put the motor in, Same thing broke off at the flange, took it to some dude charged me $15.00 to weld it, Mine was origanlly welded on the inside of the pipe.

I also what to know if this is a common problem.