Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Need advice on remote starter for '03 H6

My wife's birthday is coming up, and I'm thinking of buying her a remote starter for her '03 H6 before the cold weather sets in (and believe me it gets COLD up here in Maine).

The car has a factory remote keyless entry/alarm system. Yes, it has an auto tranny.

Has anyone installed a remote starter on a recent vintage Legacy or Forester? If so, do you have any tips or are there any problems to be aware of?

Can anyone recommend any particular brand or features to look for?

Should I attempt the installation myself (I'm a novice at car wiring, but I am educable)? Or should I (dare I?) trust a car audio-type place to do the installation?

Thanks in advance for your help!

You sound like you are up for the task to me Chip. I think if one is willing to try is a big factor in doing these things.

Sorry I can't give you any advice from past experience on an install for one of these as I have not done one as of yet. They are fairly easy to install I believe. I would purchase the factory wiring service manual if you do this so you will have a reference book to go by for the connections. You could also check with the dealer and see if they have any recommendations for a particlar brand of unit to install. One caution though is, installing this may effect the warranty of the car unless they do the work, so I would first check into that issue with the dealer before doing anything.

Chip:

I installed an Ungo RS151 in my OBW LTD the first winter I had it ('01, amazingly enough:brow: ). I picked this one because it is the same model the local dealer uses, and I bought it through them hoping for some little support. Nobody on-line seemed to have a wiring diagram available, and the install instructions were not car specific. When I asked the dealer to photo-copy the wiring diagram, he refered me to the local car stereo shop, where HE buys the starter from:banghead: and probably also has do the install.