Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Tried out the Air conditioning yesterday in my '95 2.2 Leagcy sedan. It blows nice and cold but there is a loud click when the compressor comes on (relay?) and a VERY noticable drag when it's on. The car will actually decellerate when the compressor engages. It seems to cycle on and off very frequently. I know the 2.2 has limited power but is this normal? I tried checking the little window on the condensor with out much luck. Should I have the A/C system check out by a shop? Thanks.

• 1 month later...

Josh,

A couple of question!

1. I am fairly new to this ultimatesubaru.org and it is not still obvious as to how to create a new thread. Apparently, I am losing my mind.

2. I have 94 RHD Subaru legacy-L station wagon and currently it does not have the belt on the A/C pulley, and the compressor clutch rattles a lot, which seems to be the main reason why the belt was off. I would love to get the A/C to work, since it was getting pretty hot in Atlanta, GA. Before I do anything major, I would like to try replacing the loose clutch (if I can get it anywhere) and install a new belt to see if A/C works. Here are my questions:

2.1) Do you know where I can get the replacement clutch for my Subaru? I checked a few places and they only seem to sell the whole compressor unit with clutch.

2.2.) I tried to use a loaner tool from Autozone to remove the clutch, but it didn't work. Where can I get the tool for this job?

2.3) Does the system need to be discharged completely before I may attempt to replace the compressor. If that is the case, I suppose I have to take it to the shop.

Any advices would be greatly appreciated!

Many thanks!

When's the last time you've used the A/C? Did it work fine then? From what you described it sounds like the system is either under or over charged.

It'd probably be worth taking it to a shop for an a/c diagnostic.