Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Manual 4wd/dual tranny variations?!?

The local Berkeley shop has now put in two replacement transmissions -- both of them wrong.

First a rebuilt from CCR -- wrong spline (CCR sent one for a turbo), didn't fit. Pulled, returned.

Then a "used Japanese" obtained locally in Berkeley. It had, I found out a week later, one less electrical connection point -- the original had connectors for one more wire input for the computer sensors. (I think five switches on the original, four on the 'used' one,not sure.)

(they've taken that one out too, and gone looking for an exact replacement. I'd've thought that was the right thing to do from the start, but I'm not a mechanic....)

The local shop didn't tell me about this til I brought the car back in -- mechanic said, well, he tried to work it out logically, and thought it might work OK. But no, in 500 miles, it ran funny, got codes -- crank angle sensor, neutral switch, and I think I last saw an unlisted one, a simple "6" on the engine check light codes, unpredictably.

So, apparently the Subaru manual 4wd 5-speed dual range transmission comes in a variety of styles.

Anyone know for sure? What are the variations in sensors/wires on the 4wd-5speed-dual_range transmissions that might be put into a GL wagon (rightly or wrongly)?

Fortunately, my original "all it did was pop out of first and third gears" transmission was still at the shop, and they've hauled it over to the company that supplies the used Japanese models to try to find a match.

By now, at least in theory, CCR or someone could have rebuilt my original (sigh). But who knows for sure.

If you know any better (grin), please advise.

The codes you are getting don't have anything to do with the transmission. The 4wd 5 speed transmissions don't interface with the computer at all.. All of the plugs on it are for things like reverse lights, 4wd and High/low lights.