Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I am thinking of buying a saab 9-2x(WRX). Any advice?

I have been driving my 97 Legacy GT since 2000 when I bought it with 70K miles. I am up to 180K miles and I am about to spend a ton of $$ on it. I think I might instead buy a new car. My legacy needs tires, timing belt, has had a leaky rear main seal for 2 years, and now it seems like the head gasket is going. I have always liked the idea and specs of the WRX and recently realized the saab 9-2X is the same car (almost) as the impreza. Because of GM incentives the saab version is significantly cheaper right now. Does anyone have any comments or advice on the quality of the WRX/saab, the differences, how well they last, what to look out for, and all that stuff. I put a deposit on one today because they are getting hard to find but I have until the middle of next week to change my mind. How long does the turbo usually last in one of those? Do the 2.0 engines last well? Do I really need to use the premium gas? Any advice would be helpful.

Thanks

okay, the only advice i can give you is that it is an EXTREMELY fun car to drive. After a recent car show, me and my friends got to drive the new cars from the floor all the way out of the convention center and down a mile. Out of the new Cadillac sts's, porsche cayenne's and saab's that i got to drive, the 9-2 turbo was amazing. I was in the wagon, but it was incredible. The handling (we raced a little through the convention center garage) was superb, and that turbo literally put me back into my seat about 2500rpm's into it. Haven't driven a new subaru, but from my experience, on performance alone(not really too sure about all of the other aspects) you would have a great time in the saab.....i really sound like a noob, but it's a great car.

you did say ANY advice right:)

cory

I say buy it :)

There's a long thread on Nasioc here:

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=658102&highlight=saabaru