Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hey everyone,

I'm a complete novice and hoping to soon be a Forester X MY06 (manual 2.5L) owner but ... to get into my carport (roughly 6 times daily) I absolutely NEED to roll backwards down a 15 degree incline. I have tried this several times in a test drive vehicle and find it infuriatingly difficult to combat the Hill Holder, with frequent stalls.

Am I doing something wrong?

Is there an easy way to do it?

Can the bloody thing be turned off?

Also, what's the go with the gear shift? Does it settle in or is it always so firm ... almost lacking 'smoothness'? Or do I just need to stop being a whining wimp and get on with it.

Thanks in advance for any help. Just really glad y'all are out there.

Cheers

Well, you could try rolling backwards without the car in gear, so you do not need to depress the clutch. Or, you could just adjust the hillholder cable to either A) not work at all, or B) only work when clutch pedal is fully depressed.

(I am assuming that the New Gens still use a cable for the hillholder.)

Yeah, thanks for that. I'm not sure if it's still a cable or not but will check with the dealer's mechanic I guess. Since posting I've been searching the forum and seen lots of suggestions to adjust or simply remove the cable. The 'not in gear at all' idea is valid except that our carport (yeah, I know ... just move home!) needs the previously mentioned roll backwards down a hill and around a 90 degree corner and then keep reversing UP an incline. All the while making sure the neighbours (who share the driveway) aren't screaming down and catching you between gears. So it's kind of nice to already have it in Reverse with the clutch pushed to the metal. What a pain.