Ultimate Subaru Message Board

***HELP*** 2.2 Timing belt horror!!!!! (UPDATE)

OK.....I have a real problem.

2.2 Impreza 80K

In doing the timing belt, I discover that a pulley was loose. I took it off to check it and discover this!!!! OMG!! Now what. I noticed the belt was wearing on the edge because of this too.

What can be done?? welding? JB weld? The bolt catched the last part of the threads, a little less than 1/4", but I'm afraid to tighten to the recommended torque. (I doubt it will torque)

This is a perfect engine, with no issues at all, BUT THIS STUPID BOLT! How could this have happened? Factory? This was the original timing belt too!

Ideas? suggestions?

Look at the pic and weep.

http://www.ultimatesubaru.org/photos/uploads/144/PDC_0191.JPG

Thanks everybody in advance!

(I like my Gen 1s a WHOLE LOT BETTER NOW!! LOL

Todd

That sucks BIGTIME! I am not an expert on welding or know one, but would try to find someone who is or a board member that has dealt with this before to evaluate the feasibility of repair.

I would give the JB Weld a try, if nothing else it would be a heck of a lot less work than having to change the engine due to a broken casting. And the good side is that the engine ws still running when you toer down to replace the T belt I assume.

Many years ago my sister had a chev truck in at dealer to diagnose a starter problem, and in changing the starter the morons broke one of the cast mounting flanges off the engine block. Solution was brand new Target Master GM engine and installation, on her bill of course! Old engine was traded to a shade tree mechanic who was able to weld a replacement mounting on to it and drop it in another vehicle. Of course that i a cast iron block.

Good Luck!

Yep, the engine was running perfect, but I knew it was WAY overdue for the timing belt. So I figured a few hours and I'd be done! (Yea right!!)

Oh there was a piece of aluminum in the timing belt cover too.