Ultimate Subaru Message Board

So I’ve put up with the retched smoke smell long enough. I've been crawlin' all over my 99 2.5 OBS and found a few leaks. It seems that there is oil leaking around the pan and what appears to be the front cover of the engine.

I've searched the threads but can't seem to get a good idea of what it will take to get this stuff "Sealed-up" again. The car has 55K on it and other than the leaks; it's a good cruiser. I plan to do the work myself, but admittadly, I have little experience with Subaru's.

Your thoughts?

Setright is on track. The crank and camshaft seals are known for leaking on Subaru engines. Your timing belt may have oil on it too. Plan on doing a full timing belt 'plus' job. That is, belt, seals, service oil pump, maybe t-stat, check belt tensioner, etc. There are some good articles and write ups on this for Subaru engines. I saved several pdfs that were on a site a while back. I think it is also part of the endwrench articles.

The other possibility is valve covers. If it is only that, then you could hold off on the other stuff for a while. Does your engine call for a t-belt change at 60k, or 105k miles?

Commuter

You know, I couln't tell you right off hand what the T-belt interval is. I am going to dig out the manual and check that out. After I posted the message I did some checking around and got pretty much the same advice, T-stat, T-belt, Oil pump service and seals.

If I go to the stealer and ask for these parts will they look at me like I'm stoned? Or is all this stuff pretty common? What would you estimate this would cost at the stealer vs. my performing the repair?

Questions, questions, questions...:drunk:

T