Ultimate Subaru Message Board

EJ20 Turbo ECU - RA spec fit onto leone?

Hi everyone,

just wondering if I could fit the ecu off an RA ej20t onto/into my 87 leone??(EA82t) Im still new to fiddling with my car, so please go easy if this just a stoopid question:) Just how stoopid I can be, I wondered why my leone was over heating...Id left the radiator cap off...whooops!!:banghead: Anyway just wondering.

Cheers.

HI there,

Problem with that is, that the ej20 does not use a distributor, and your ea82 does. You could probably fit a ej crank angle sensor to the ea82 and run the complete ej ignition system, but is it worth it, when you could get a megasquirt system much easier?

Why do you want to chang computers anyway?

Thank for the reply. Iwas just wondering, always wondering. Is it easy to install megasquirt? dont i need to change the injectors?? Or is that if i change the turbo?? Oh and if i stick an intercooler on it, do i need to change anything esle? Timing or anything? Or could I get away with just plugging it on and drive away?? I know theres abit more to it than just 'sticking it on', just wondering if there was more to do after it is done??

Thanks again.:)

HI there,

Problem with that is, that the ej20 does not use a distributor, and your ea82 does. You could probably fit a ej crank angle sensor to the ea82 and run the complete ej ignition system, but is it worth it, when you could get a megasquirt system much easier?

Why do you want to chang computers anyway?

Depends what you call easy.... it will work with all your stock injectors etc though - no problem there.

You need bigger injectors (and a computer to run them) if you want more than around 10-11psi of boost, since the stock ones wont be able to deliver enough fuel.