Ultimate Subaru Message Board

driving your 1600 more now due to gas prices?

I had to put a new starter in the Ski Wagon, and I'm using it as my daily driver now....

last time I filled up my Yukon, it was $78. 13 mpg in mostly town driving,

the ski wag w/1600 looks to be around 20 mpg roughly... in town driving...

Yeah buddy,I just got to use my touring wagon for off roading and commuting for a few days.Wow!! A/C,Power windows,nice radio,but now it's back to the '78 tomorrow.I've been abusing it as my daily for a few months now.It needs a tune up but still is a blessing to have.I get at least 25mpg but it gets a solid 35mpg when it's tuned up and wheels,etc. in top shape.

Sunday night fill up for the touring wagon was $49.00 for 15 gallons.It was real low and I top it off.

my 1600 is running poopy... i've driven less then 70 miles on a full tank and i'm already used a 1/3 of my gas...:(

i need a 2wd disty and a rebuilt carb...:(

you do the math i'm getting less then 15 mpg... your yukons lookin' pretty good mick...

My '78 is getting great mileage even in town. I filled it for $26.50, just before the big rise. The needle hasn't moved and I have been using it as a daily driver. I vaguely remember that my first one's needle would look full for quite a while then suddenly drop to 3/4 when it used a quarter tank. I think it needed to burp or something.

The Brat draws a lot of attention at the shows. They are especially interested because of the fuel economy. Many of them remembered the 70's gas crunch and fuel economy was a key selling point for automakers. They looked at it with a whole new set of eyes :)

Yeah, Ive been driving my 78 alot this week and weekend. I filled it up a few weeks ago and left it sitting at my house, this weekend I brought a plate home to so I could drive it again. Great gas mileage but but only room for two and I can't really thro the kids in the jump seats to go to the bus depo in the morning.:rolleyes::)