Ultimate Subaru Message Board

"Electronic Brain" (ECU) replacement

Hi, all. I'm a frequent lurker (and information user) but I don't post much, thanks to the hefty archives on this site, which are better than any repair book I've ever seen.

I'm a contractor at Microsoft, and there's a '91 Loyale someone's looking to get rid of cheap in the Microsoft classifieds. In the ad it says it needs an "electronic brain." I e-mailed the person with the car, and they said their neighbor, who is a mechanic, came up with this diagnosis when the car died and wouldn't start. I'm not sure if it turns over or not, but it sounds like it might.

My question for you all is, first of all, has anyone looked at this car? It's been in there a while, and I wouldn't be surprised if there was another subaru maniac working at MS.

My other question is: what should I look for if I go look at this car? I was going to bring a battery and see if it turns over, then go from there. What would the symptoms of needing an "electronic brain" (I love the way this sounds--great band name) be? It sounds like if this is really the problem it would be pretty easy and cheap to fix, but would there be a risk of blowing a new ECU?

One theory I have is that the timing belt broke, and the well-meaning neighbor was explaining that with these modern cars, everything's controlled by a computer, so they're hard to work on. It doesn't make sense to me that an ECU would blow on a perfectly good car, but who knows.

Does anyone have some advice for me on this? I appreciate all the collective help, past and future.

I've never heard of the ECU dying, unless the car is struck by lightning or something. Or if you try to jump start it and hook the battery up backwards. I suspect some sensor or such went bad, and the ECU won't let it start now.