Ultimate Subaru Message Board

transmission options for my new XT Turbo

i'm converting my FT4WD XT Turbo to NA and building this thing for the best gas mileage possible.

a 3.7 transmission should get better gas mileage than a 3.9 right? or do the 4 speed trans get less than the 5 speeds? i guess the determining factor is the final drive ratios? anyone know which trans has the best final drive ratio for highway gas mileage?

i'm thinking maybe swapping a 3.7 front diff into my FT4WD 5 speed trans may be the way to go if that's possible.

87.5 XT Turbo FT4WD, i thought those were all 3.9's? but i'm just learning all this EA82 interchange stuff. quite confusing. any idea what thread that was, i didn't see it when i was searching.

a rear 3.7 turns fewer times at a given speed than a 3.9 so i'd think having a 3.7 rear diff would offer the best mileage for highway driving (and that's how it plays out with my auto 3.7 and manual 3.9's on the XT6's). so i'd like to have a 3.7 in my XT when i'm done. but - if the 3.9 trans are better then maybe i could get the 3.7 front diff into my FT4WD trans (if it's 3.9 now, which i thought it had to be).

i originally was looking for a manual FWD XT. i pushed 40 mpg in my old one driving all highway miles. it was only 3 years old when i got it in 1991. i could get 500 miles on a tank on all highway trips. that's what i'm aiming for now. this FT4WD XT Turbo was close, had a blown motor (i wanted to a put a new one in anyway) and from someone from the board so it was a good match. hopefully it does well, i'm converting it to NA, i'll be removing the turbo.

mine is a push buttom 4WD 5 speed right?

TROGDOR, i should be moving out to morgantown next year and be going through there a few times between now and then maybe we'll meet up?

which trans is it that is FWD until you put it in 4WD? wouldn't those get better mileage since they are FWD unless you put it in 4WD? i guess it doesn't make much difference really....