Ultimate Subaru Message Board

2002 Forester that surges/hesitates/jolts with a rough/low/oscillating idle

Hi All,

I'm a new member and have never posted. I have a question regarding my 2002 Subaru Forester. Please forgive me for what might be an obvious question but I'm new at this.

My Forester has roughly 60,000 miles on it. Recently it has been surging/hesitating/jolting. It feels as though the car is on and off running out of gas. It happens to most when accelerating (especially up a hill) but is happens more lightly while cruising. Also, it seems to be inconsistent. Some days its worse and other days its not there at all (including the three times I took it to the mechanic). Also, the idle is rough/low. It seem to oscillate high and low every 2-3 seconds.

I changed the air filter, oil filter, fuel filter, and the spark plugs (spark plugs were in good condition). The fuel filter seemed to have fixed things but only temporarily. Two mechanics checked my car with a computer and a test drive and told me nothing was wrong with. One suggested I should clean the air intake and the other suggested I use an engine/injector cleaner. What seemed to work is the injector cleaner with a high octane fuel.

After driving for one take of high octane fuel, I switched back to the low octane fuel. Immediately, the problem returned. This has led me to believe that the problem is not that the injectors are dirty but that the car now needs high octane fuel for some reason. This is unusual given that have been driving it on low octane fuel since I bought it. Also, this would suggest (based on what I've been reading) that the problem could be engine knock. The only problem is that the term "engine knock" doesn't sound like an appropriate description of the problem. I don't hear any "knocking" or "pinging" sound. I could run it on high octane fuel but this seems like a bandaid rather than a solution to the problem.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Peter.