Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Engine: To pull or Not to pull (head gasket work)

So I've decided to do the head gaskets myself as opposed to buying a rebuild CCR engine.

I've never done heads on a Soob before let alone pull the engine.

I need some advice though, pull the engine or not? The head work would clearly be easier with the engine out but how much easier versus the extra time and energy required for a newb to do an engine pull.

...can I even do the work with the engine in???

i never pull the engine for head gaskets, i just finished a head gasket job today on a 6 cylinder soob with the motor in the car. much more difficult than the 4 cylinders, but still better than pulling the motor.

unbolt the intake and flip it back/up out of the way. leave just about everything connected to it, just move it all up and out of the way and the heads are easy. there is plenty of room to do them in the car. even enough room to hit all the head bolts with an air wrench to zip them out quickly. the valve covers are annoying, tight getting a couple bottom bolts out.

spray everything down really good a couple times with PB blaster or liquid wrench (don't use WD40) a day or so before you start. rust will be annoying, spray down radiator fan bolts, water pump pulley bolts, timing cover bolts/screws to keep them from shearing off.

if you've been driving awhile with a bad headgasket that's using coolant, your heads may be badly damaged. i had an internal coolant leak on mine and kept driving it for a few months just adding coolant and it destroyed the head.

gotta split. i can just about have one head off by the time you pull the engine out....leave it in there i say. it is super nice having the motor on the ground, but no problems doing it in the car either.

have fun,