Ultimate Subaru Message Board

WA-nnabe needs help (pics of the "RainbowRoo" incl)

I posted this a long time ago, and Scoobywagon offered to help me out and walk me through this whole thing. :) Unfortunately, he became grossly innundated and hasnt had any free time for months! So I figured it wouldnt hurt to repost, and re-request help finding and changing an engine. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to workin' on cars (I make video games for a living. If it doesnt come with a keyboard, I dont know how to work it.), so I need all the help I can get.

So, my story...

Short Version: I was given a (slightly customized) '84 GL Wagon, and its in need of a new engine, but I'm no mechanic. At all. I'm lookin' for an EA81 to buy, and someone to give me a hand (hah, who am I kidding... I'm lookin' to give someone else a hand) putting the new engine in.

*snip* okay, the thread with the long version was archived. Oops! Pictures are below, though. *snip*

I'd like to save this things from the junkyard, if I can. :) I'm in Redmond, WA. Anyone wanna help? :D

Where is South Prarie?

I've only ever done simple little things like changing oil, brakes, and things like that. Never an engine swap. I'm still learning all I can about Subarus and this car of mine.

I looked at that CCR page. Now I learn that EA81 comes in two varieties: Carbureted and Turbocharged. How much more powerful is the Turbo, and how much modification would my car require to use it?

Anyway, thanks for getting back to me. :)

South Prairie is about 10 miles east of Puyallup..