Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I am new to this, and am looking to replace my crappy hyundai. I have heard

alot of good things about Suburu, few not so good. I am confused about the

different models, Outback vs Forester vs Impreza. I know someone at work who has the 2000 Outback, he uses it for hunting. A Subaru for hunting? I was immediatley intrigued. He started to tell me that this model was built on this

frame etc.etc. I want the toughest, most powerfull, reliable, roomiest, and most fuel efficient of them all. (who doesn't) Anyway can someone educate me on the world of the Subaru AWD.

Jeff :-\

as far as i know, none of the subs here are built on frames (the way pickups and traditional suv's are).

But if you're looking for the roomiest and most powerful, then you want the tribeca. I don't know that any particular subaru model is "tougher" or more reliable than any another subaru model.

I don't know what you're looking for in a car, but if you're thinking about hunting, have you considered a baja? It's basically an outback that looks like a pickup. I don't think I would want a dead dear spewing its guts all over the inside of my car.

I don't know what you're looking for in a car, but if you're thinking about hunting, have you considered a baja? It's basically an outback that looks like a pickup. I don't think I would want a dead dear spewing its guts all over the inside of my car.

If you are taking the Outback hunting, you do not put the kill inside the car. you put it on top of the car. . . :drunk:

OK, Outback: Two versions:

Outback, Legacy outback - Built on the Legacy platform. Single most rugged of the modern Subarus. good ground clearance.

Outback Sport, Impreza Outback - This is a smaller, quicker version of the Outback, based on the Impreza platform.

Legacy: Probably the most all-arouond capable of the Subaru lineup. with a standard ground clearance it has excelent handling, and a good serving of power.