Ultimate Subaru Message Board

anyone want to help me lift my soob this week?

ok so, heres my deal. I'm gonna get a bunch of free metal and most of what I need to make a lift for my subaru, I think I can get most of it myself, but there are a couple of skills I dont have yet and a couple of tools I dont have, and my only work place is out in the rain in my driveway, if it was below freezing I'm ok with that but i cannot STAND working in the rain laying on my back in a big puddle of water all day.

anyways, my plan is to go 6 inches, all body lift, although if I can get some suspension lift in the back and then drop the differantial down I might do that if I can do it cheap.

so anyone out there that has a good place to work and has access to some vital tools(such as chop saw/band saw, drill press, somethin other than a stick welder), and a bit more knowledge and/or have done this before, please contact me. by the way, since I'm a student I dont have much in the way of money(which is why I have a soob), I can get materials and consumables as needed; but you'll be helping me for enjoyment and pride and just cause lifting a soob is damn cool, rather than trying to make a pretty penny.

thanks!

lol no help yet.. I think I'll be able to handle it myself, yeah that gorge wind sucks, we have a place a few miles out of white salmon up there, makes me thankful I have a concrete pad to work on(even if it doesnt drain very well, puddles get about 3/4" deep in places); cause up there nothing but chunky gravel and mud. stumpy when are you planning to get started? (if not already..) cause I might be heading up the gorge sometime soon and if you still want some help I'd be happy to help you lift it, also since I'm gonna make my own it will help me to see how things work.