Ultimate Subaru Message Board

ej22 crank pulley/harmonic balancer/woodruff key damage

Well guys it's been a while since I needed or was able to offer any help. Now I am in it pretty deep I think.

I was having probs with temp guage in my car. Found a bolt in the wiring shorting something to ground erratically. While under hood noticed severe vibration in harmonic balancer so I checked main pulley bolt. Sure enough, loose.

Removed it and took off the pulley. The woodruff key had busted up pretty good, carving out the inside of the main pulley/balancer. I know it needs to be replaced.

On the other side, the keyway seems damaged. In some of the other threads I have read about welding this back together. I have a 235A AC welder but I am a mediocre welder at best. Does this need to be spot welded or a full penetration weld? If so, how would I ever replace timing belt/work on this area again? Can it be done with engine still in car?

I am confident the engine has many more miles on it but I do not see the value in yanking it for a teardown. I'd rather sell it and move on.

I am also tempted to work some other solution out in which I drill through the sprocket and crank, and then the pulley and crank in a radial direction and then tap and thread a set screw into each to hold the pulley and sprocket in place. I realize I cannot do this by hand, just tossing it around in my head. Need to devise a jig if I am going to explore this.

Anyone ever successfully repaired this before? Pics/methods much appreciated. I think I can source parts from a local yard.

post-10790-136027605607_thumb.jpg

post-10790-136027605613_thumb.jpg